Edit a Snowflake connection

You can edit a Snowflake connection to add tables and columns, as well as manually invalidate refresh tokens from Snowflake for users who have refresh tokens that expired.

Editing a Snowflake connection

To edit a Snowflake connection:

  1. Click Data in the top navigation bar.

  2. Click the Connections tab in the left navigation bar.

  3. Click the name of the connection you want to edit.

  4. Click Edit connection at the upper-right-hand side of the page.

    Edit connection
  5. On the Choose connection type page, change the connection name or description (if needed), and then click Continue.

  6. On the Snowflake connection details page, make any changes needed, and then click Continue.

  7. Expand the database table drop-down menu, and select the tables and columns you want to add.

    Select tables and columns
  8. Click Update, and then click Confirm to save the updated connection detail.

To remove a table from a connection, delete it from the connection details page. For more information, see: Delete a Snowflake connection.

See the Connection reference for details of connection parameters.

We also recommend that you review Best Practices for Snowflake connections.

Invalidating refresh tokens of a Snowflake connection configured with Snowflake OAuth

If a Snowflake user’s refresh token has been invalidated, the user will not be able to access insights from a Snowflake connection, or the connection itself. This can happen for the following reasons:

  • Their default role in Snowflake was changed.

  • Their token was obtained for a specific role in the connection and was later revoked.

In this case, it is necessary for the administrator or the author of the connection to use the Invalidate Tokens command, which will then allow the user to re-authenticate to regain access to the connection.

This can be done in two ways:

  • If the connection is edited, a message appears at the top of the connection screen indicating that the connection has been modified, and that users may have to re-authenticate. An Invalidate Tokens link appears next to the message. Clicking that link will allow the user to invalidate tokens.

  • The adminstrator or author of the connection, can use the Invalidate Tokens command in the Snowflake connection.

To invalidate refresh tokens of a Snowflake connection:

  1. Click Data in the top navigation bar.

  2. Click the Connections tab in the left navigation bar.

  3. Click the name of the Snowflake connection you want to edit.

  4. Click the more menu more menu icon, and select Invalidate Tokens

After running the Invalidate Tokens command, logged-in users of the connection will have to re-authenticate to regain access to the connection.

Invalidating tokens for a connection, invalidates the refresh tokens for all users of a connection, except the author.