Managing user logins and sessions

User login

Users can log into ThoughtSpot in several ways: as users with local ThoughtSpot accounts and by using SAML. Refer to Authentication for more information about ThoughtSpot’s authentication options. Administrators can configure their preferred authentication method from the Admin Console.

User sessions

Depending on which version of ThoughtSpot Cloud you first deployed your cluster on, your users' experience with maximum session validity and idle session timeouts may differ.

Clusters deployed on November Cloud 2021 and later

When a user clicks Remember me on the login screen:

  • Idle session timeout: If a user is not active for 14 days, ThoughtSpot logs the user out, and the user must enter their login credentials again.

  • Maximum session validity: ThoughtSpot forces the user’s session to expire after 14 days, even if they are active throughout that period.

When a user does not click Remember me:

  • Idle session timeout: If a user is not active for 30 minutes, ThoughtSpot logs the user out, and the user must enter their login credentials again.

  • Maximum session validity: No maximum session validity.

Clusters deployed on October Cloud 2021 and earlier

When a user clicks Remember me on the login screen:

  • Idle session timeout: If a user is not active for 60 minutes, ThoughtSpot logs the user out, and the user must enter their login credentials again.

  • Maximum session validity: ThoughtSpot forces the user’s session to expire after 7 days, even if they are active throughout that period.

When a user does not click Remember me:

  • Idle session timeout: If a user is not active for 30 minutes, ThoughtSpot logs the user out, and the user must enter their login credentials again.

  • Maximum session validity: No maximum session validity.

To increase idle session timeouts or maximum session validity, contact ThoughtSpot Support.