Understanding privileges

If you are trying to do something in ThoughtSpot, and cannot access the screens to accomplish it, you may not have the correct privileges. In this case, you should contact your administrator and explain what you want to accomplish. Your administrator may be able to grant you additional privileges.

Permissions to see and edit Answers and Liveboards are not affected by privileges. They are given when these items are shared with you.

Here are the privileges that the administrator sets, and the capabilities they enable:

Can administer ThoughtSpot

Can manage users and groups and has view and edit access to all data. Users with this privilege can also download a saved Answer.

Can download data

Can download data from search results and Liveboards.

Can share with all users

Can see the names of and share with users outside of the groups the user belongs to. Members of groups with this privilege can also share with groups marked as NOT SHAREABLE.

Can manage data

Can create connections. To view or edit other people’s connections, you must have the Can administer ThoughtSpot privilege.

Can create Worksheets and views.

Note that to edit a Worksheet or a view created by another user, you must have the Edit permission on that object, and it must be shared with you.

Can create SQL views.

Can use experimental features

Can access trial and experimental features that ThoughtSpot makes available to early adopters.

Can manage sync

Can use ThoughtSpot Sync to set up secure pipelines to external business apps and sync data. Note that users with admin privileges see all pipelines and syncs created by their team through the Sync tab in the Data Workspace, while users without admin privileges see only the syncs and pipelines they personally create.

Can schedule for others

Can create Liveboard schedules for other users and groups.

If a user previously had Can schedule for others privileges and the permission was removed, their existing schedules would continue to send as before. As owners of a Liveboard schedule, they could delete the schedule, but could not add or remove existing users.

Has SpotIQ privilege

Can use the SpotIQ feature.

If this privilege is not enabled for the user, they can still see "Did you know" SpotIQ insights on the ThoughtSpot home page.

Can administer and bypass RLS

Users in groups with this privilege (directly or through group inheritance):

  • Are exempt from row-level security (RLS) rules.

  • Can add/edit/delete existing RLS rules.

  • Can check or uncheck Bypass RLS on a Worksheet.

Your installation configuration may enable or disable the availability of this privilege. By default, it is enabled. Administrators or groups with the privilege Can administer ThoughtSpot can grant this privilege.

Has Developer privilege

Can access and use the Developer Portal to explore the ThoughtSpot APIs and developer tools, and build web applications with ThoughtSpot content.

Cannot copy or edit existing Liveboards

Users are limited to viewing and exploring curated Liveboards (and Answers). They cannot copy, edit, download, or share them.

This privilege is designed to support embedded implementations, and is not available by default. Contact ThoughtSpot Support to enable it.

See Granular access to Liveboards for a deeper discussion of this privilege, and an implementation example.

This privilege is now deprecated. It is unavailable if you are using the new Answer experience. To use this privilege, return to the classic Answer experience. For details, see Deprecation Announcements.

The following table shows the intersection of user privilege and ability:

Create/Edit WS
Create View
Create Connection
Modify Col. Props.1
Download Data
Share within Group
Share with all users
Manage and bypass RLS rules
CrUD Relationships
Read Relationships
See Hidden Cols
Join with Upload Data
Schema Viewer
Use Scheduler
Use Auto-Analyze
Access Developer Portal
Can administer ThoughtSpot Y Y Y Y Y Y Y Y Y2 Y Y Y Y Y Y Y
Can download data
N N N N Y Y N N N
Y4
N N N N N N
Can manage data
Y Y Y Y N Y N N
Y4
Y4
Y5
Y N N N N
Can share with
all users
N N N N N Y Y N N
Y4
N N N N N N
Has SpotIQ privilege
N N N N N N N N N
Y4
N N N N Y N
Can Administer and Bypass RLS
N N N N N Y N Y Y N N N N N N N
Has Developer privilege N N N N N Y N N N N N N N N N Y
None N N N N N Y N N N
Y4
N N N N N N

Table notes:

  1. Applies to non-owners only.
  2. Any tables.
  3. Author of at least one table in relationship.
  4. Only when read permission for columns used in the relationship.
  5. With edit permission.