Dematerialize a view

Learn how to dematerialize a view to free up space.

To free up space in your cluster, you can dematerialize views that were materialized but are no longer regularly used. This operation leaves the view intact, but removes the precomputed data that is stored in memory. After dematerializing a view, you can expect searches on the view to take longer, but you will have more space available in memory.

To dematerialize a view, follow these steps:

  1. To find your view, click Data in the top menu.

  2. Under Data Objects at the top of the page, choose Views.

  3. Click the name of your view.

  4. Click Joins.

  5. Under Materialization, click Dematerialize.

    Dematerialize view
  6. In the confirmation window titled Remove materialized view, click Remove to confirm.

    Note that this action removes the data from memory.

    Confirm dematerialization of view
  7. You can see the progress of dematerialization. Click Update status to refresh.

Remember that at this point, you can still search across your view, even if it is not materialized.

To remove the view altogether, you must delete it.