New Liveboard experience

Learn about ThoughtSpot’s new Liveboard experience, and how to enable it.

Overview

The new Liveboard experience contains multiple new features and feature enhancements. It is part of ThoughtSpot’s move to a new stack. It is on by default for individual users. The option to turn it on or off individually from your profile is also on by default. Administrators can manage the availability of the new Liveboard experience for the whole cluster from the Admin Console.

The new Liveboard experience is dependent on the new answer experience. To use the new Liveboard experience, you must first enable the new answer experience. The new Answer experience is on by default, but it may be off in your environment.

If the new Liveboard experience is available in your environment, turn it on or off individually from your profile, in the Experience manager at the bottom of your profile. The new Liveboard experience contains the following new features:

  • Edit mode: To make any changes to your Liveboard, such as moving a visualization or editing the Liveboard name, you must be in edit mode. To enter edit mode, select the Edit button at the top right of the Liveboard. If this button is grayed out, you do not have edit privileges for the Liveboard. To resolve this, contact your administrator or the creator of the Liveboard.

  • [8.7.0.cl and later] Liveboard tabs: Separate your Liveboard into multiple tabs, grouping specific visualizations together in each tab.

  • Improved filters modal: We moved all filter configuration into one modal, where you can add filters, specify which visualizations the filters should apply to, and link columns from different worksheets to create one Liveboard filter for visualizations that come from different worksheets.

  • HTML in Liveboard titles and descriptions: Use HTML 5 in titles and descriptions for Liveboards. For example, you can add a clickable link to a word or phrase in a description, or italicize part of a Liveboard title.

  • Undo, redo, or reset buttons: Use the in-product undo, redo, and reset buttons to reset or go back or forward 1 step each time you make a change in a Liveboard visualization (for example, when you add a new column to the search, drill down, or sort). These buttons appear to the right of the title of a Liveboard visualization.

  • Copy visualization link in the more menu: Copy a direct link to a visualization within the Liveboard. Use this feature to share a specific Liveboard visualization. This feature moved from the Share visualization modal to the more menu. First, share the Liveboard. Then, select the more menu icon more 10px for the visualization, and select Copy link. This provides you with a link to the specific visualization within the Liveboard. You can send that link to the user you shared the Liveboard with.

  • Answer Explorer improvements: Answer Explorer now opens in the current state of the visualization. For example, if you drill down on a visualization, then open Answer Explorer, it opens in the drilled-down state. Answer Explorer now opens in a modal.

  • Visualization copy and edit improvements: When you copy and edit (now called make a copy) a Liveboard visualization, the copy now takes into account any Liveboard filters that applied to the original visualization.

  • [8.4.0.cl and later] Liveboard download footer: Administrators can specify a standard footer to add to all Liveboard downloads. Use this functionality to add a confidentiality disclaimer, for example.

  • Liveboard layout control: Users now have more control over the Liveboard layout when they move visualization tiles. Other tiles will not move unexpectedly.

Turn the new Liveboard experience on or off individually

The new Liveboard experience is on by default. You can turn it on or off individually from your profile.

The new Liveboard experience is dependent on the new answer experience; you must enable the new answer experience before you enable the new Liveboard experience.

To turn the new Liveboard experience on or off, follow these steps:

  1. Navigate to your profile: select the Profile icon at the top right of your screen, and select Profile.

  2. Next to Experience, at the bottom of your profile, select Edit.

  3. Ensure that the new answer experience is on. Next to Answers experience, select New experience

  4. Next to Liveboard experience, select New experience or Classic experience.

  5. Select Save.

Turn the new Liveboard experience on or off for the whole cluster

You can manage the availability of the new Liveboard experience from the Admin Console. You can turn the new Liveboard experience on or off globally, and specify the default Liveboard experience for all users. For example, you can turn the new Liveboard experience on globally, but still have the classic experience as the default, allowing users to opt into the new experience.

To manage the new Liveboard experience, follow these steps:

  1. Ensure that the new answer experience is on for the whole cluster.

  2. Select Admin, from the top navigation bar.

  3. Select Search & SpotIQ.

  4. Scroll down to Liveboards Experience, and select Edit.

  5. Enable or disable the new Liveboard experience.

  6. If you enable the new Liveboard experience, you can specify whether it should be on by default for all users, or if they should have to opt in.

    To display the new Liveboard experience to all users, enable the new Liveboard experience toggle, then enable the Make new Liveboard experience default toggle.

    To display the classic Liveboard experience to all users, but allow them to turn the new experience on for themselves in their profile, enable the new Liveboard experience toggle, then disable the Make new Liveboard experience default toggle.

Limitations

New Liveboard experience deprecations

The following features are not available with the new Liveboard experience, but they are available in the classic experience. The new Liveboard experience is on by default, and users can turn it on or off individually from their profile. If you would like your company to be able to use these de-supported features, you can turn the new Liveboard experience off for your company from the Admin Console. Alternatively, if it is available in your environment, you can turn it on or off individually from your profile.

  • Share a visualization: The share button for a specific visualization within a Liveboard is no longer available. Instead, share the Liveboard. Then, select the more menu icon more 10px for the visualization, and select Copy link. This provides you with a link to the specific visualization within the Liveboard. You can send that link to the user you shared the Liveboard with.

  • Switch between Liveboards from the Liveboard title: This feature allowed you to click on a Liveboard title and view a list of other recently edited Liveboards that you could click on. Instead, navigate between Liveboards from your home page, or the Liveboard list page.

  • Copy embed link: The Copy embed link option in the more menu icon more 10px for the Liveboard or a visualization is no longer available. Instead, use the SDK for embedding purposes.

  • Change title menu option: The Change title option in the more menu icon more 10px for a visualization is no longer available. Instead, to make changes to the Liveboard, you must be in edit mode. To enter edit mode, select the Edit button at the top right of the Liveboard. Then, click on the visualization title or description to edit it inline.

  • Liveboard edit icon: The Liveboard edit icon icon edit 10px next to the Liveboard name, for editing the Liveboard name or description, is no longer available. Instead, to make changes to the Liveboard, you must be in edit mode. To enter edit mode, select the Edit button at the top right of the Liveboard. If this button is grayed out, you do not have edit privileges for the Liveboard. To resolve this, contact your administrator or the creator of the Liveboard.

  • Edit an answer in Liveboard present mode: This feature allowed users to select the edit icon icon edit 10px while presenting a Liveboard, and directly edit the answer. Instead, exit Present mode, and edit the answer.