When you view a pinboard in ThoughtSpot, you can share it with others.

Save and share pinboards

When you share a pinboard, you share a live link to the pinboard that reflects the latest version of it. When someone else views the pinboard you shared with them, they see the most recently saved version with the most recent data.

You do not have to be an administrator or the owner to share saved pinboards. Any user can share them, based on the access levels the user has.

You can share a pinboard from the list of pinboards on the main pinboards page, or from the pinboard itself.

Share from the Pinboards page

To share a pinboard from the main pinboard page, follow these steps.

  1. Configure the pinboard to look as it must appear when you share it.

  2. Save the pinboard by clicking the ellipsis icon more options menu icon, and selecting Save.

    Save the pinboard

  3. Click Pinboards on the bar at the top of your screen.

    The top menu bar

  4. Select the pinboard you want to share from the list of pinboards by hovering over it and clicking the empty check box that appears.

  5. Click Share.

    Share the pinboard

  6. Specify permissions.

Share from within a pinboard

To share a pinboard from within the pinboard, follow these steps.

  1. Configure the pinboard to look as it must appear when you share it.

  2. Save the pinboard by clicking the ellipsis icon more options menu icon, and selecting Save.

  3. Click the sharing icon sharing icon.

    Click the sharing icon

  4. Specify permissions.

Specify permissions

  1. After you click the Share icon, the sharing dialog box appears.

    The sharing dialog box

  2. Enter users or groups with whom you want to share this object in the text box.

    Enter users or groups

    Note that you can only enter whitelisted email addresses. Whitelisted email domains appear when you click on the info button .

  3. Configure the level of access by selecting from the drop-down list. You can select:
    • Can View to provide read-only access. If the user doesn’t have access to the underlying worksheet, they can only view the shared object.
    • Can Edit to allow modification. Enables renaming or deleting the shared object. If a user with edit privileges modifies a shared object, the object saves their changes.

    Specify permissions

    If the selected group or user does not have access to the underlying data, you must enable access to the worksheet, view, or table. A yellow warning symbol appears. If you click on it, it tells you to enable access:

    Enable data access

    Refer to share uploaded data.

  4. To stop sharing with a user or group, click the x icon .

    Stop sharing

  5. You can send an email notification and an optional message:

    Send notification

  6. Click Share.

    Share your Pinboard or Answer