When restoring to a running cluster where the ThoughtSpot software is not updated, we recommend that you use a snapshot. If you updated the cluster to a new release, if the configuration changed significantly, or when restoring to a different cluster, you must restore from a backup.
Restoring from backup require that you first delete the old cluster. Changes to a cluster that require restoring from a backup instead of a snapshot include:
- Removal of a node.
- Restoring to a different cluster from the one where the snapshot/backup was taken.
- Restoring to a cluster running a different release from the one where the snapshot/backup was taken.
You should never restore from a snapshot or backup yourself. To restore from a snapshot or backup, contact ThoughtSpot Support.
Restoring a ThoughtSpot cloud deployment
For details on how to restore a ThoughtSpot cluster hosted in the cloud, see: