You do not have to be an administrator or the owner to share saved answers. Any user can share them, based on the access levels the user has.

Save and share answers

You do not have to be an administrator or the owner of an Answer to share saved Answers. Whenever you view an Answer, you have the option of sharing it with others. The Answer appears in its most recent state when you share it. For example, if you add a filter after saving the Answer and then share it, the Answer you share has that filter.

You can share an Answer from the list of Answers on the main Answers page, or from the Answer itself.

Share from the Answers page

To share an Answer from the Answers page, follow these steps.

  1. Configure the Answer to look as it must appear when you share it.

  2. Save the Answer by clicking the ellipsis icon more options menu icon, and selecting Save.

    Save an answer

  3. Click Answers on the bar at the top of your screen.

    The top menu bar

  4. Select the Answer you want to share from the list of Answers by hovering over it and clicking the empty check box that appears.

  5. Click Share.

    Share the Answer

  6. Specify permissions.

Share from within the Answer

To share an Answer from within the Answer, follow these steps.

  1. Configure the answer to look exactly like it must appear when you share it.
  2. Save the answer by clicking the ellipsis icon more options menu icon, and selecting Save.

    Save an answer

  3. Share the answer by clicking the sharing icon sharing icon.

    Share an answer

  4. If you did not save the answer, ThoughtSpot prompts you to name and save the answer before sharing it.

    Save and share your answer

  5. Specify permissions.

Specify permissions

  1. After you click the Share icon, the sharing dialog box appears.

    The sharing dialog box

  2. Enter users or groups with whom you want to share this object in the text box.

    Enter users or groups

    Note that you can only enter whitelisted email addresses. Whitelisted email domains appear when you click on the info button .

  3. Configure the level of access by selecting from the drop-down list. You can select:
    • Can View to provide read-only access. If the user doesn’t have access to the underlying worksheet, they can only view the shared object.
    • Can Edit to allow modification. Enables renaming or deleting the shared object. If a user with edit privileges modifies a shared object, the object saves their changes.

    Specify permissions

    If the selected group or user does not have access to the underlying data, you must enable access to the worksheet, view, or table. A yellow warning symbol appears. If you click on it, it tells you to enable access:

    Enable data access

    If you own the underlying data source, refer to share uploaded data. If you do not own the data source, ThoughtSpot sends an email to the owner or your ThoughtSpot administrator to tell them to share the data.

  4. To stop sharing with a user or group, click the x icon .

    Stop sharing

  5. You can send an email notification and an optional message:

    Send notification

  6. Click Share.

    Share your Pinboard or Answer