Estimated reading time: 1 minute

Whenever you are working in ThoughtSpot, you are in your own private environment until you share your work with others. Sharing applies to searches, pinboards, and any data you upload.

What you can share

This is a list of objects a regular, non-administrator user can share. Administrators have more granular control over data security.

You can share with groups and with individual people. You can share several different types of objects:

Object type Description Default security model
Uploaded data Data that was uploaded using a Web browser. Only the user who uploaded the data (and any user with administrator privileges) has access to it by default. They can share a table (or selected columns) with other people or groups. See Share uploaded data
Pinboards A pinboard of saved search results. Anyone who can view a pinboard can share it. See share a pinboard
Answers The result of a single search. Anyone who can view an answer can share it. See share answers

Who can share and to whom

You do not have to be an administrator or the owner, to share saved answers or pinboards. Any user can share them, based on the access levels the user has.

If you upload a spreadsheet, you can share Can View or Can Edit privileges with other people, who can further share them with others. This last point is important. Like sharing a secret, sharing an object or your data can quickly spread in ths way to people you do not intend it to. So, if your data or work is sensitive to your business be thoughtful in how you share it.

Finally, you can revoke access to an object (table, worksheet, or pinboard) that you have previously shared. Unsharing an object is very similar to sharing it.