Estimated reading time: 1 minute

When restoring to a running cluster that where the ThoughtSpot software was not updated, you’ll usually use a snapshot. But in the case where you’ve updated the cluster to a new release, the configuration has changed significantly, or you’re restoring to a different cluster, you’ll need to restore from a backup.

Restoring from backup require that you first delete the old cluster. Changes to a cluster that require restoring from a backup instead of a snapshot include:

  • Removal of a node.
  • Restoring to a different cluster from the one where the snapshot/backup was taken.
  • Restoring to a cluster running a different release from the one where the snapshot/backup was taken.

You should never restore from a snapshot or backup yourself. To perform a restore from a snapshot or backup, contact ThoughtSpot Support.